LA Jazz Society Tribute


From the LAJS website:

We are proud to announce that our 2013 Jazz Honorees are the exciting, high-energy Playboy Jazz Festival sensation, Sheila E. along with her father Pete and brothers, Peter Michael and Juan Escovedo.   If you have never seen this dynamic ensemble perform, you are in for a great Latin Jazz treat.

We are also pleased that this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to the most deserving esteemed jazz & classical music flutist and saxophonist, Hubert Laws.  Our Jazz Educator Award will recognize the talents of the leaders of our Jazz in Schools program, Ernie Fields, Jr., Charles Owens, and Maestro Delbert Taylor.  This year’s recipient of the Shelly Manne Memorial New Talent Award will be 14 year-old drummer sensation, Alex Smith.


Hugh Hefner
Honorary 30th Anniversary Tribute Chair

Hon. Eric Garcetti
Honorary Dinner Chair

Sheila E, with Juan, Pete and Peter Michael Escovedo
2013 Jazz Tribute Honorees

Hubert Laws
Lifetime Achievement Award

Ernie Fields, Jr., Charles Owens and Maestro Delbert Taylor
Jazz Educator Award

Alex Smith
Shelly Manne Memorial New Talent Awards

HOSTED BY: Leonard Maltin
With performances by all of the honorees.

October 27, 2013.